How do you propagate a pineapple?

Cut the top half-inch off the pineapple. Trim any remaining fruit off of the bottom of the leaf unit. Place the unit into a glass of water; a Pilsner glass works well for this. Submerge only the bottom of the leaf unit. After roots form, put in large planter of well-drained soil in a sunny spot.