Tell me about townes van zandt?

John Townes Van Zandt was an American singer-songwriter originally from Fort Worth, Texas. He wrote numerous songs, the most famous being the hit "Pancho and Lefty." He passed away January 1st, 1997 as a result of health problems stemming from years of substance abuse.