Why does knife start with a k.?

Up until the 17th century we observed this practice and actually pronounced “knee,” for instance, as “k'nee” and “knife” as “k'nife.” But sometime in the 1500s we started dropping that “k” sound, probably because folks simply found that “kn” sound a bit clumsy to pronounce.