What does the term let them eat cake mean?

This phrase is attributed to Marie Antoinette in the 1700’s when she was married to King Louis XVI of France. During the famine when the people could not get bread which was their staple, she supposedly said, ‘Let them eat cake.’ This happened during the French Revolution.