What year did ringo starr join the beatles?

August 18, 1962. Only two days after Pete Best was fired, the Beatles performed their first official gig with new drummer Ringo Starr. The concert took place at Hulme Hall in Birkenhead. Starr, who had been poached from Rory Storm and the Hurricanes, met the Beatles in 1959.