What was the mona lisa stolen?

In the days just prior to World War 1, the Mona Lisa was stolen in the early morning on Aug. 21st 1911 by three men, dressed in workmen's clothing. Eight months later, It was later returned when it was attempted to be sold. Suddenly, the painting was the priceless masterpiece that it is today.