What happened to marvin gaye?

Marvin Gaye was fatally shot by his father, Marvin Gay Sr, on April 1, 1984, at their home in the West Adams district of Los Angeles, California. The singer was shot twice, following an argument with his father after he intervened in an altercation between his parents.