What is the somogy effect?

The Somogyi effect or phenomenon happens when you take insulin before bed and wake up with high blood sugar levels. According to the theory of the Somogyi effect, when insulin lowers your blood sugar too much, it can trigger a release of hormones that send your blood sugar levels into a rebound high