Why did the asteroid hit earth?

Asteroids are constantly hitting the planets and the sun. They are simply rocks floating out in space and gravity pulls them toward the planets or the sun. Asteroids usually burn up in our atmosphere but on planets or moons that don't have an atmosphere, they hit and leave craters in the ground.