Who created pickles?

Pickles have been around for thousands of years, dating back to 2030 BC, when cucumbers from their native India were pickled in the Tigris Valley. The word “pickle” comes from the Dutch pekel or northern German pókel, meaning “salt” or “brine,” two very important components in the pickling process.