Do people get shorter as they get older?

As a part of aging, it is normal to shrink a bit and there are few reasons. As we age, the discs between our vertebrae lose fluid and flatten a bit; the arches of our feet also tend to flatten a bit, and we lose muscle mass as we age leading to poorer posture and appearance of being shorter.