What came first english or spanish?

Both European languages have ancient roots. It could be argued that Spanish is older because it evolved from Latin, spoken by the Romans. English evolved from the languages spoken by two ancient tribes, the Angles and the Saxons, who invaded Britain after the Romans withdrew in 410 C.E.