When was the first automobile made in america?

Frank and Charles Duryea of Springfield, Massachusetts, had designed the first successful American gasoline automobile in 1893, then won the first American car race in 1895. American George B. Selden filed for a patent on 8 May 1879. His amended patent was granted 11 5 1895.