What's a negative connotation?

Negative connotation is the bad feeling or emotion that is attached to a word or concept, which can impact the meaning to the point of being the opposite of meaning of the words stated.

---

The word "connotation" means an idea or feeling that a word invokes in addition to its literal or primary meaning. Ideas or feelings can be positive or good, or negative or bad. So a negative connotation is where something promotes a bad feeling or idea in your head.