Which way does a fan rotate in the summer?

Most ceiling fans are designed to cool the area underneath them by spinning in a counter clockwise direction. Because of the angle and pitch of its blades, a ceiling fan circulates air and creates a cool breeze. So in Summer, most ceiling fans should rotate in a counter clockwise direction

---

All portable fans turn only in one direction, dependent on manufacturer and the fan's motor wiring. Not so with installed ceiling fans. With a flip of a switch, turn blade rotation either counter clock-wise in summer, clock-wise in winter for best results on heating and cooling costs in your home.