What's in rubbing alcohol?

Rubbing alcohol is Isopropyl alcohol, often called Isopropanol, diluted typically to 70% by volume with water. Surprisingly, the 70% concentration is a better disinfectant than concentrations of 80% and above. The water helps bacteria to more readily absorb the alcohol, killing it faster.