Where did pumpkin carving originate?

Making jack-o'-lanterns at Hallowe'en began in Ireland in the 19th century. They carved turnips and potatoes to scare away Stingy Jack & other evil spirits. The Irish started arriving in America in 1820 where they found pumpkins made excellent jack-o-lanterns.

---

The Irish brought the tradition of carving Jack O'Lanterns to America. But pumpkins did not exist in Ireland. Ancient Celtic cultures in Ireland carved turnips on All Hallow's Eve, and placed an ember in them, to ward off evil spirits. In America they used easier to carve pumkins instead.