Does apple cider vinegar have chunks?

When you find a bit of stringy sediment, large or small, in a bottle of vinegar don't fret. A vinegar mother, that is. Yes, it looks rather grungy and scary, floating on the top of the vinegar like that, but this spongy mass of bacteria is completely harmless.