How do you abbreviate barrel?

The abbreviation for barrel when talking about crude oil is B or BO at present. But when standard Oil began manufacturing 42 gallon barrels that were blue to be used for transporting petroleum. The use of a blue barrel, abbreviated "bbl," guaranteed a buyer that this was a 42-gallon barrel.