Who wins in the civil war?

Assuming the question is about the American Civil War- the Northern States under President Lincoln accepted the surrender of the Southern States under Jefferson Davis. The terms of surrender were signed by Robert E Lee for the Confederacy ( Southern State) and Ulysses S Grant for the North.