Who invented plates?

Probably someone who didn't want to eat off of a dirty floor, or table any more. People used to actually eat out of "trenchers"--loaves of hard bread that were hollowed out to act like plates. Plates didn't get spoiled like trenchers, develop mold or attract bugs.