What is the substitute for dry white wine in cooking?

You can use champagne, sparkling white wine, vermouth, or rose. If you don't have any of those, you can use red wine, lemon juice, or vinegar...But, use only half as much as you would use white wine and substitute water for the rest. And, there is also broth, or water that can be substituted.