Why are junebugs called junebugs?

June bugs derive their name from the fact that adult June bugs emerge from the soil at the end of spring or the beginning of the summer.

---

June bugs live most of their life underground. They come out, around late May early June for mating season. They can only mate for 2 weeks, then they die.