What's the difference between tomato paste and tomato puree?

The difference between tomato paste, tomato purée, and tomato sauce is consistency; tomato puree has a thicker consistency and a deeper flavor than sauce. Tomato puree cannot be substituted for tomato paste because of its thin consistency.