Are jack and jill brother and sister?

The nursery rhyme never explicitly states whether they are siblings, but it was based on the myth of Hjúki and Bil, who were siblings. In the original the brother and sister were captured by Mani (the moon god) and taken to the moon, while fetching a pail of water from a well.

---

No, Jack and Jill referred to are said to be King Louis XVI - Jack -who was beheaded (lost his crown) followed by his Queen Marie Antoinette - Jill - (who came tumbling after). ... The actual beheadings occurred in during the Reign of Terror in 1793.