When do caterpillars sleep?

They will huddle together at night to hide from predators, but they only truly sleep when they are in their metamorphic stage.

---

Caterpillars do sleep, but not like we do. They tend to take cat naps. (See what I did there?) Their rest period generally lasts from about 10 minutes, to a just a few hours