When was the first telegram sent?

Samuel Morse sent the famous first telegram that read "WHAT HATH GOD WROUGHT" in 1844. The message traveled 44 miles. However, Morse actually sent another telegram a much shorter distance of 2 miles in 1838.

---

The first telegraph was an optical telegraph used in the French empire in the late 18th century. The first electric telegraph was developed and used in Britain in the 1830s. Samuel Morse invented a simpler system about a decade later.