Do dogs go to space?

In the 1950s and 60s, the Soviet space program used dogs for orbital and sub-orbital space flights to determine if human space flight was feasible. The most notable of these dogs is Laika, the first dog to be sent into orbit in 1957. Dogs are not currently being sent to space for any reason.