What state is m. and m. from?

M and M's are from the state of New Jersey. In March of 1941, Mars was granted a patent for his manufacturing process and production began in Newark. Originally sold in cardboard tubes, M&Ms were covered with a brown, red, orange, yellow, green or violet coating.