What's the difference between a freeze and a hard freeze?

A hard freeze warning is issued when temperatures drop below 28 degrees for two or more hours. A freeze may damage some plants; a hard freeze will kill most seasonal vegetation.

---

Water freezes at thirty two degrees F. In a light freeze the surface of a shallow pond may have a skim of ice on the surface of the pond. In a hard freeze the surface of the shallow pond will freeze solid.