Why do clothes shrink when you wash them?

Agitation and high temperatures in the washing and drying cycles can distort fabric and cause clothes to shrink. Washing fabrics, such as cotton, linen or wool, too vigorously can cause the fibers to tighten together and yield a shrunken garment.