What was the original color of kermit the frog?

The original Kermit puppet was made from a pale green coat belonging to Jim Henson's mother. He debuted in 1955 on black and white television. He changed to a brighter green color in 1963 when color TV was more popular. His trademark collar was originally orange but was later changed to green.