What's the difference between new england clam chowder and manhattan clam chowder?

New England clam chowder is thick, creamy, and milky-white. Manhattan clam chowder is tomatoey, brothy, and clear. New England has bacon, clams, and heavy cream with onions, celery, and potatoes. Manhattan chowder is tomato-based & contains onions, celery, often green bell peppers, and potatoes.