What was the first ever emoji?

A Japanese man named Shigetaka Kurita created the first emoji in 1999. He released 176 emoji to begin with and his favorite was the heart. Many other original emoji were related to transportation and weather. At first they were only used in Japan. Emoji were released for iPhone and Android in 2010.