What is the ratio of dried basil to fresh basil?

Because dry herbs have a more concentrated flavor, typically one third of the amount can be substituted for most fresh herbs, including basil. So if the recipe calls for one teaspoon of fresh, use one third teaspoon of dried herbs.

---

As a general rule, if using dried herbs when a recipe calls for fresh herbs, the amount of dried herbs should be about a third of the amount that the recipe calls for in fresh herbs.