Who did the united states fight in world war two?

In World War 2, the United States fought primarily against Germany, Italy, and Japan, and for a brief time, against France. The US fought in North Africa, Sicily, Italy, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, on many Pacific islands, in the air, and on the seas.

---

The roots of World War II, which eventually pitted Germany, Japan, and Italy (the Axis) against the United States, Great Britain and the Soviet Union (the Allies), lay in the militaristic ideologies and expansionist policies of Nazi Germany, Italy, and Japan.

---

Italy, Austria, Hungary, Vichy France, and Japan were Germany’s key allies towards the end of the war.