Who did the united states fight in world war two?

The roots of World War II, which eventually pitted Germany, Japan, and Italy (the Axis) against the United States, Great Britain and the Soviet Union (the Allies), lay in the militaristic ideologies and expansionist policies of Nazi Germany, Italy, and Japan.

---

Italy, Austria, Hungary, Vichy France, and Japan were Germany’s key allies towards the end of the war.