How do you create an algorithm?

Create a rough flowchart diagramming the inputs, the outputs, and the process or math you want to mimic. Then write the corresponding software logic. Then create "calls" to invoke your logic as well as "puts" to capture the answer or response. In the end "close" the algorithm so it goes idle.