Who is the first indian astronaut?

Kalpana Chawla was an American astronaut & engineer who was the first woman of Indian origin to go to space. She first flew on Space Shuttle Columbia in 1997 as a mission specialist & primary robotic arm operator.. Her second flight was on STS-107, the final flight of Space Shuttle Columbia in 2003.