How much can an orangutan bench press?

Orangutans are very strong apes, around five to seven times stronger than humans. They can lift up to 500 pounds, which is about three times their own body weight.

---

Sumatran orangutans have very long arms spanning 7 feet (2 m), as well as long hands and feet. Extremely strong, they can lift 500 pounds (240 kg) effortlessly—which is handy when they want to tear off crowns of grown palm trees to retrieve the hearts for a meal.