How to care for a painted turtle?

Feed your painted turtle romaine or red-leaf lettuce (never iceberg), chopped mixed veggies, and collard greens, small feeder guppies, various insects and earthworms, pieces of chopped beef heart, cooked chicken pieces, and even low-fat dog food. The key to a good painted turtle diet is variety.