What is a aurora borealis?

Auroras are natural light shows created by collisions of electrically charged particles entering the earth's atmosphere. Such auroras are seen above the magnetic poles of the northern and southern hemispheres. The northern one is the Aurora borealis; the southern one, the Aurora Australis.