Why do people get baptized?

It's an act of obedience symbolizing the believer's faith in a crucified, buried, and risen Savior, the believer's death to sin, the burial of the old life, and the resurrection to walk in a new life in Christ Jesus. It is a testimony to the believer's faith in the final resurrection of the dead.