How do i track fruit flies?

Look for a site with food ooze, goo, gunk, crud, or scum and you'll likely find the source of your fruit flies! (1) Over-ripe or fermenting fruits and vegetables – Check vegetable storage bins and fruit bowls for fruits or vegetables that are too soft or rotting.