Why do they call a french toast?

The term "French Toast" first appeared in England in a cook book published in 1660. One theory states that adding "French" to the name made it sound fancy and desirable. The French actually call it "pan perdu", or "lost bread". Bread dipped in egg and fried originated in the Roman Empire.