Are there any bears in africa?

There was just one species of bear native to Africa in modern wildlife times, and it was called the Atlas bear. The bear got its name because it lived the Atlas Mountains of North Africa (Morocco, Algeria, Libya, and Tunisia). The Atlas bear has gone extinct.