Why do people say bless you when you sneeze?

Some people believed that a sneeze causes the soul to escape the body through the nose. Saying bless you would stop the devil from claiming the freed soul. Others believed the opposite: that evil spirits use the sneeze as a chance to enter a person's body. Nowadays it's just the polite thing to do.