How do you take care of an azalea plant?

Full sun, especially in southernmost climates, can actually burn the leaves while heavy shade can deprive them of necessary oxygen, resulting in poor blooming and weaker growth. Azaleas have shallow roots and require a well-drained, acidic soil.