What is a dutch oven used for?

A Dutch oven is a heavy cooking pot with a tightly fitting lid that is functional both on the stovetop, and in the oven. Think of it as an antiquated version of a slow-cooker. The multi-use pot has been around for centuries and can be used for braising, soups, stews, and sauces.