Why do basset hounds have long ears?

THEIR LONG EARS SERVE A PURPOSE. The dog's large, floppy ears have a job to do. As a basset hound trots across the ground, its ears help bring smells directly to its face, while its dewlap (the loose skin underneath its chin) helps trap them.