How do squirrels make nests?

Some squirrels build nests in tree cavities rather than among the high branches. The squirrel begins by roughly weaving a platform of live green twigs. Then an outer skeleton of twigs and vines is built around the insulated core, and finally, additional material fills in and strengthens the shell.